The Mamarazzi in Me

Standard

Guest post by Brooke Williams

Whenever I write a novel, I am amazed at the things about myself that end up in the book. It could be little details like my clumsy nature or something much deeper. I didn’t realize how much Mamarazzi I had in me until the book was complete.

In “Mamarazzi,” Danica, the main female character, takes pictures of celebrities paparazzi style. She does this to pay the bills and in hopes of making it in the legitimate photography world. She wants to work WITH the stars and take their photos for magazines and so forth. While she searches for a way to break into that world, she hides behind bushes and sells photos to make ends meet.

While I can’t say that I’ve ever been good at photography, I do admit that writing has always always been a part of my life. When I was little, I used to cut pictures out of magazines and glue them to blank paper and write stories about the pictures. I then sold these “newspapers” to my parents for a nickel. And they had to buy them to get their pictures back! Ha. I should have known then I was meant to be a writer.

Like Danica in “Mamarazzi,” deep down I knew what I wanted to do with my life. I wanted to write. However, unlike her, I spent years in denial. I worked in radio for over a decade and the only writing I did was short scripts for commercials and promotions. The itch to write was there, but I put on a balm and kept trucking. In the meantime, like my main character, I kept glancing over at the other side of the fence, wondering if the grass was greener and if I’d ever find a way to climb over it.

In hindsight, I wish I had been more like Danica in past years. She knows what she wants and she goes for it. She does whatever it takes to get there, too! I wasted a lot of years not writing. I should have gone for it long ago, even if no one ever read what I wrote. I can’t deny my love for writing and I never should have allowed myself to shove it away.

As you read Mamarazzi, ask yourself if you have any Mamarazzi in you. Is there something you want to do in your life, big or small, that you’ve been denying? Danica would say, “Go for it!” You never know what you might be able to achieve unless you try. And if you fail? Well, at least now you know!

I hope you enjoy “Mamarazzi” even half as much as I enjoyed writing it. Thank you to Ruth for allowing me to take over her blog as a guest today!

 

 

 

Mamarazzi Release Promo Post

 

Mamarazzi

 

By Brooke Williams

 

Release Date: September 11, 2015 from Prism Book Group

 

 

 photo MAMARAZZI20COVER_zpsw7ys2qdo.jpg

 

 

Order HERE

 

Join the Sept. 15th Release Day Party on Facebook HERE

Enjoy giveaways with a dozen diff

Leave a Reply

