Autumn Dreams Character Interview

Standard

Maggie, the heroine of Autumn Dreams, has popped in from her 1949 schoolroom for a chat:

Maggie, can you tell us why you decided to become a teacher?
I think I always wanted to teach. When I was in school I used to help my teacher by taking the smaller grades out to the playground to do their reading with them. It just seemed natural for me to go to Normal School after I graduated. And of course my older sister Dora is a teacher too.

Are you and your sister close?
We always get along best when we live in different homes, but I love her dearly. I just get frustrated sometimes when she can do everything better than I can. Her life is so organized. She’s a talented pianist, does wonderful needlework and never gets herself into scrapes the way I do. And she’s not afraid of anything.

Have you always boarded with a family at your teaching jobs?
Last school I had my own little teacherage but the school closed and I had to find a new position. I love boarding at the Thornhills. Ellen my landlady is terrific and she and Ray have a six year old daughter Emma that I’ll be teaching this year. The only problem is Ellen’s brother Marshall. I can tell he dislikes me but I can’t figure out why. I’m trying to ignore the fact that he’s so handsome and intriguing but I can’t get him out of my thoughts-most annoying.

Do you like living on the farm?
I would if I didn’t have to be around horses. I hate to admit it but I’m terrified of them. I always have been. I know Marshall senses it. Maybe that’s part of why he doesn’t like me.

You sound as though you think a lot about Marshall. Is this interest a romantic one?
Certainly not! I only want him to like me because he’s Ellen’s brother and Emma’s uncle. I’m not interested in him that way at all. Of course he did kiss me one night…..

Maggie, Maggie. Are you still with us Maggie?
What? Oh sorry, my mind was wandering there for a minute. Now I’m sorry I have to leave you. It’s time to prepare my lessons for tomorrow.

Thanks for stopping by Maggie. Good luck trying to figure out the enigmatic Marshall.

image

Autumn Dreams is a romance novella that takes place on the prairies in the late 1940s.

Maggie arrives at her new teaching job, to board with a family she’s prepared to like. What she isn’t prepared for is her landlady’s brother Marshall who seems to hate her on sight. She is captivated by Ellen’s six year old daughter Emma who is having identity problems when faced with the arrival of a new baby. Then Ellen goes into labour in the middle of a storm and Maggie must face her fears to help. Along the way she helps a family grow closer together but what about her hopes for the future? Can she get past the wall Marshall has set up and does she really have a future here amongst the people she has grown to care for?

http://amzn.to/ZNUrZw

http://www.sharonmcgregor.com

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

