Sweet Disaster – Part 2

Standard

Enjoy Part one of Sweet Disaster located in the Free Stories section of my blog.

Jennifer was standing near the hostess podium when Jake walked in at exactly seven pm. She was going through the reservation book with one if her employees and hadn’t noticed him yet so he took a moment to watch her. She was even more beautiful than he remembered. Wearing a black cocktail dress that ended a few inches above her knees, showing just enough of her long shapely legs to be admired, paired with red high heeled shoes. Her long blond hair fell in waves down her back. His gaze reached her face, when her hazel eyes met his he sucked in a breath sharply, he felt a shock go down his spine. This woman was trouble. If he wasn’t careful she might capture the one thing he thought he’d never lose, his heart.

She smiled when she saw him and handed the reservation book to the hostess. “You came.”
He walked closer to her, “Did you think I wouldn’t?”
She blushed and reached below the podium to get her clutch. “All set,” she said.
He held his hand out for hers, when she placed her hand in his he felt her pulse jump in time with his. Their eyes met and held for a brief moment. “We should go before I’m called into the kitchen to handle some emergency,” she said. He nodded and they walked out to a sleek, silver convertible sports car parked at the curb. He opened the passenger door and handed her in then walked around the front to the drivers side.
Her hand caressed the soft gray leather seats. “Your first love I assume,” she said.
He laughed. “Lorena and I have seen many miles and beautiful sights together.”

“So, where are we going?” she said.
He glanced in her direction, she was watching the fading lights as they drove away from the city. “It’s a surprise,” he said.

As they drove on a few more miles she began turning the watch on her wrist round and round and he smiled. She was nervous. “Don’t worry, you are perfectly safe with me. Here.” He handed her his cell phone. “Call any one of my contacts and ask them about me.”

“That really isn’t necessary.”

“If you’re sure,” he said tucking the phone back into the inner pocket of his jacket. He pulled into an old drive-in movie theatre. The man at the gate greeted him familiarly. “Howdy there Jake. It’s all set up and ready to go.”
“Thanks Artie.”

The theater was empty so they had their choice of spots. The wheels kicked up dust as he drove to one right in the middle, with the best view. As soon as the car came to a stop the movie screen came to life with an old black and white movie, Roman Holiday starring Audrey Hepburn. She turned quickly to him, eyes wide. “How did you know?”
“That it’s your favorite? Your sister told me.”
“My sister? When did you talk to Katherine?”
“When she called my office this afternoon to get my drivers license number and social security number so that her husband could run me through the system, see if I have a criminal background.”
Jennifer groaned. “She didn’t?”
He nodded and smiled. “She did. I gave her my drivers license number and she spoke to my mother who happens to be my assistant, that seemed to satisfy her. In return she told me what your favorite movie is.”
“I can’t believe you actually showed up tonight after all that. I’m so sorry, she is a little bit overprotective.”
“I’m glad she is. Sisters like that are golden.”

Just then Artie arrived pushing a cart with several covered dishes. He lifted folding trays from beneath the cart and placed one over their laps. Then served plates of hamburgers and French fries, with chocolate shakes. “She also told me that even though you cook all that fancy food this is still your favorite meal.”
“My sister was just a fountain of knowledge. What else did she tell you?”
“I’m not going to say, I have to take credit for something don’t I?”
He opened the center console and pulled out a bowl of blueberries. Her favorite movie snack. She smiled and reached into the bowl for a handful and sat back to enjoy the movie.

When the movie ended and the credits began rolling Jake looked over at her. “Would you like to dance?”
“I’d love too,” she said.
They got out of the car and met in the front. He pulled her gently into his arms and they danced in the moonlight.
“Why is this your favorite movie?”
“When I was a little girl I used to watch everything that had to do with princesses. I was convinced that my sister and I had been kidnapped from the king and queen and left in an orphanage. I had a vivid imagination.”
“You were raised in an orphanage?”
“In foster homes actually. We were abandoned when I was three and Katherine was seven. She remembers our mother but I don’t. Since she was the oldest she has always been protective of me.” He turned them slowly in time with the music. She was an amazing dancer, he wondered if there was anything she didn’t excel in.
“So neither of you were ever adopted?”
She shook her head and he felt her tense up slightly in his arms. “No. We were to old. Most people want infants. But at least we were never separated when we were sent to different homes.”
“Now I understand her call and concern for your safety.”

The song ended just then and they walked hand in hand to the swing set at the edge of the theatre. The both sat in swings and moved slowly back and forth.
“How did the two of you turn out so well having been raised in foster homes? That’s not the typical outcome is it?”
“No it isn’t. I owe all my success to my sister and dumb luck.”
“I’m sure your sister played a big part since she was older but I don’t think luck had anything to do with it. I bet it took a lot of hard work. Tell me about it.”
Several moments passed in silence. He thought she wasn’t going to say anymore on the matter and was about to change the subject when she began speaking.

“The day she turned sixteen she got a job after school and saved every penny for two years. When she turned eighteen she rented an apartment and applied for legal custody of me. Our social worker knew us well and recommended the judge approve the custody petition. Soon after that a relative we didn’t know existed died leaving us a rather large inheritance making it possible for us both to attend college.”

“That’s a remarkable story. Did you ever find out who the relative was and why they never came forward to claim you?”

She nodded. “That’s a story for another day.” She kicked off her shoes and began swinging in faster. “I bet I can go higher than you.” A wide smile spread across her face, the slight breeze blowing her hair back. She was stunning.
“You’re on,” he said and pushed off the ground with his Italian leather loafers.

An hour later Jake pulled into the drive of an historic colonial home. White pillars lined the front of the house creating a beautiful porch. It was a grand old home. He parked the car and walked around to the passenger side to open her door. They walked up the steps. “This was the best first date I’ve ever had. Thank you Jake.”

“You’re welcome. Good enough to earn me a second date?”

She nodded, a small smile playing on her lips. Her hazel eyes gazed into his. Her tongue darted out and flicked her full bottom lip. He slowly lowered his head, giving her every opportunity to step away from him, thankful that she didn’t when his lips captured hers in a kiss that reached to his soul and tugged at his heart. When they finally broke the kiss they were both breathing hard. He wrapped her in his arms and rested his chin on top of her head to catch his breath.

“You are dangerous Jennifer Wyatt.” He placed one last kiss on her forehead and tucked a stray strand of hair behind her ear before he turned to walk away. He waited until she was in her house before he drove off. He had a strange feeling that he had just met his future.

Leave a Reply

