Old School Paperback or Ereader?

Standard
English: A Picture of a eBook Español: Foto de...

English: A Picture of a eBook Español: Foto de eBook Беларуская: Фотаздымак электроннай кнігі Русский: Фотография электронной книги (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I agree with those who think there should be a third option. But since there isn’t I voted for Ebooks. While I love paperbacks, I love the smell of book and the feel of them in my hands, I have to say that the convenience of e-readers has tipped the scale for me. It used to be that I would finish reading a book and have nothing else on hand to read. I’d then have to wait until I had time to get to a bookstore to buy another one. The waiting is pure torcher to a book addict like me. Since buying my kindle I am never without a book to read. I just turn it on, browse, sample and buy. I love it! Of course, I never miss a chance to go into a book store to browse the literal shelves, hold books in my hands and smell their amazing scent. But instead of buying I take a picture of the cover with my phone, then go home and buy it on my kindle.

It makes me sad to see so many book stores closing, I can’t imagine a world without brick and mortar bookstores. While I hope they stay in business I admit I am guilty of taking my business to the ereader stores. I was a hold out and did not buy a Kindle until about a year ago. And since I suffer from migraines I had to purchase one of the simple models without a backlight, the backlight gives me headaches. It may not be fancy like a Fire, but I love it just the same.

Now if only I could find a way to have my critique partners send me their stuff via ereader. I still have to print out what they send, read it on paper and then transfer the corrections to the Word document. It’s very time consuming, but in that one instance I still prefer paper.

One response »

  1. Pingback: To Eread or Paperback It – Minding The Gap | Kate's Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

