Keep it Clean or Turn up the Steam?

Standard
English: Romance icon

English: Romance icon (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I was reading a romance novel on my lunch break the other day when a coworker stopped by my desk and asked me if I had gotten to the steamy parts yet. I told her it was a sweet romance and there were no steamy parts. She looked at me as if I’d grown horns and said, “I only like the steamy, naughty novels. Without steam it isn’t any fun.” There is no shortage of steamy romance novels to satisfy her desires so more power to her.

But for me, I prefer to see characters falling in love, not lust. I want to feel those tender emotions that bring them together, that call out to each others hearts until they are head over heels in love. Two people who display mutual respect for one another. Romance novels have gotten a reputation for the steamy sex scenes. However, I have recently found several authors who write clean romance. Two of my current favorites are Stephanie Bond and Rachael Anderson. Stephanie Bond writes romantic comedy, and while her books are witty and funny they also contain all the problems, twists and turns needed to move the plot forward. Rachael Anderson’s novel, The Reluctant Bachelorette was laugh out loud funny, yet heartwarming.

I have not read every single novel these two authors have written, I can say that the ones I have read I have loved. I recommend them to anyone who reads Sweet Romance.

So to answer the question, I say Keep It Clean!!

Does anyone know any other authors who write Clean Romance? Which are your favorites?

Leave a Reply

